Who runs PSC?
This program is run in conjunction with the Multnomah County District Attorney’s Office, Court Administrator, Circuit Court Judges, private attorneys, Department of Motor Vehicles, Oregon State Child Support Enforcement, Portland Police, Multnomah County, City of Portland and The State of Oregon legislature.
What’s the process for Oregon Drivers License Reinstatement?
We have discovered that a majority of the people wanting to be processed through Project Second Chance have driver’s license issues. Suspended license, no license or owing hundreds, if not thousands of dollars in delinquent traffic fines. In order to qualify for this part of Project Second Chance, you must be willing to perform community service for all or part of the past delinquent fines (absolutely no exceptions, no excuses). In addition, you will be required to attend AND participate in a Personal and Community Responsibility Classes (minimum 8 hours) you will not get credit just for sitting in the class, you must be prepared to participate.
You must be able to provide proof of liability insurance if you intend to drive your car or be named under a current policy as an insured driver. You must provide copies of such direct to Project Second Chance administrative offices once you are cleared to get your Oregon drivers license.
Oregon driver’s licenses will not be issued or reissued if you have delinquent child support obligations. You MUST make sure that if you have delinquent child support obligations, make payment arrangements with Child Support Enforcement office. State of Oregon…
DO NOT BE AFRAID… EVEN THOUGH YOU MAY OWE THOUSANDS IN PAST DUE CHILD SUPPORT… Remember, Project Second Chance is designed to help you get back on track.
What are my requirements?
- Arrive for all court appearances, classes, workshops at least 15 minutes early (absolutely no exceptions)
- Show up dressed respectfully. No baggy pants, hoods, shorts, tank tops, flip flops (we are not your homies!)
- No cell phones in court room or class rooms.
- Be patient, Project Second Chance is a long involved process. Nothing happens fast or overnight.
- You must have a local contact phone number with NO CALL BLOCKING.
- If you move or change your address, you must notify us IMMEDIATELY… if you miss your court date, too bad, you will either be removed from the waiting list or have to start all over again which could result in as much as a 24-36 month delay.
- If the judge converts your past due traffic fines to community service, perform your community service with a smile, no complaining. THIS IS NOT DEAL OR NO DEAL!
- No profanity in court room, hallways or class rooms.
- Pay Attention – Pay Attention – Pay Attention – Knowledge is power and will prove useful in this process.
- Do not drive while you have a suspended or no drivers license
- You cannot commit or be convicted of any crimes while you are waiting or going through this program.
- PROJECT Second Chance IS ONE TIME ONLY… YOU MESS UP, YOU CANNOT COME BACK!
- Remember, your attitude will determine your altitude in life.
- Multnomah County Only ( currently not applicable to convictions or cases in other counties )
- No Parking Tickets or Restitution
- No criminal or traffic infractions in the past 12 months
- $250.00 fee for expungement payable to Oregon State Police plus fingerprint fee
- Must attend Personal & Community Responsibility Classes (Mandatory) $250.00 Class Fee ($350.00 after 6/30/2013.)
- If you owe past due child support, you need to set up a payment arrangement with Child Support Enforcement and make your newly agreed payments on time, all the time. We can help you through this process.
DO NOT BE AFRAID, WE ARE HERE TO HELP YOU IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, SIMPLY ASK US
The following are generally NOT the types of records that can be set aside (removed):
- Any class A or B felony
- Sex Crimes or Attempted Sex Crimes (ORS 181.594)
- Crimes Involving Child Abuse (419B.005)
- Civil Judgments
- Contempt of Court Orders
- Traffic Crimes and Tickets
- Manufacturing or Distribution of a Controlled Substance
- Convictions that occurred outside Multnomah County (apply in the county that you were convicted in)
- Parking tickets or Restitution
The following is a specific list of crimes that can’t be set aside (Excluding Traffic Offenses):
located at 4300 NE Fremont Street- Suite 220- Portland, OR 97213-1100 – Phone Number 503-594-7198.
Monday-Friday 9AM to 12 Noon and 2PM to 5PM Only